• 2016 ICC World T20 Schedule

    by  • December 11, 2015 • Cricket

    The ICC have announced the schedule for the World Twenty20 Cup to be held in India. The 16-team competition will be played between March 11-April 3, 2016.

    New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals, which will take place on 30th and 31st March, while the final match will be played in Eden Gardens, Kolkata on April 3, with a reserve day in place for the final.

    India, who won the tournament in 2007 – will take on New Zealand in the opener.

    The 2010 champions England will start with a match against West Indies in Mumbai on March 16, before facing the Proteas (South Africa) two days later at the same venue.


    First round (group winners to progress to second round)

    Group A – Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman
    Group B – Zimbabwe, Scotland, Hong Kong and Afghanistan

    Second round groups

    Super 10 Group 1 – Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner group B (Q1B)
    Super 10 Group 2 – India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner group A (Q1A)